Prof. Suresh Nair Narayanan Nair Suresh NairIndia
Current Position
06/2022 to present Visiting Professor PD Hinduja Hospital Mumbai
09/2023 to present President International Meningioma Society
Academic Experiences
07/1986 - 02/1999Asst/ Assoc/ Additional Professor of Neurosurgery, SCTIMST, Trivandrum
03/1999 - 06/2006Professor of Neurosurgery, SCTIMST, Trivandrum
07/2006 - 06/2017Professor & Chairman of Neurosurgery, SCTIMST
Professional Experiences
01/2013 - 12/2015Dean, SCTIMST, Trivandrum
11/2018 - 01/2020Professor of Neurosurgery, AIIMS, Bhopal
Specialty & Expertise
Surgery for Vestibular Schwannoma, Trigeminal Schwannoma, Petroclival meningioma, Spinal Intramedullary tumors
About Me
Prof Suresh Nair had a distinguished career as a faculty for 31 years at the Department of Neurosurgery at Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Science and Technology (SCTIMST) at Trivandrum, India which is an institute of national importance under the Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India. He became Professor in March 1999 and headed the department from July 2006 till his superannuation in June 2017. He was also Dean of the institute for three years (2013-15). During his tenure at SCTIMST, he trained 101 residents who are all accomplished surgeons all over India and abroad. He also served as Professor (Consultant) in the Department of Neurosurgery at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), Bhopal in November 2018 and worked there for fifteen months and during that time he could start residency program in neurosurgery there. He was the President of Neurological Society of India (NSI) in 2018 and the President of the Skull Base Surgery Society of India in 2015. He is currently a visiting professor to PD Hinduja Hospital, Mumbai.
He has been made President of International Meningioma Society at International Meningioma Congress in Sept 2023. He was the Secretary of the World Federation of Skull Base Societies ( 2016 – March 2022). He had served as a member of the nominating committee of World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS) (2019-2021) and had also served as a member of WFNS Cerebrovascular Committee for two terms. He was also a member of the WFNS Skull Base Surgery Committee (two terms) and Complications Committee. He is an executive member of Asian Oceanian International Skull Base Surgery (AOISBS) committee. He is one of the two Indians who is a member of the International Editorial Review Board of the prestigious journal “Neurosurgery”. He is also on the Editorial Board of Neurology India, International Journal of Evidence Based Medicine besides being a reviewer for World Neurosurgery, Asian Journal of Neurosurgery, Childs Nervous System to name a few. He has been recently made a founding member of Yasargil Microsurgical Academy.
He has been a visiting Professor to Fujita Health University in Toyokae (2006-07) and visiting faculty to various Universities in Japan, USA & India. During his career he has delivered 14 orations which includes the prestigious B Ramamurthi centenary oration, Prof. RM Varma oration, Prof Dave oration and Mr Sengupta oration to name a few. He has the coveted honor of conducting two invited CPC meetings at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. He is an examiner in Neurosurgery to various Indian Universities and to the National Board besides being a resource person for Nurological Society of India’s educational ventures. Prof Nair has published 170 peer-reviewed articles, and has presented more than 400 scientific presentatios in international meetings. He has 3340 citations with an h index of 25, and i 10 index of 51. He has authored 37 chapters in text books. He is an accomplished surgeon in posterior fossa surgery and has operated upon more than 1000 CP angle surgeries which includes 835 vestibular schwannomas. His areas of interest are cerebellopontine angle tumors, petro-clival meningiomas, trigeminal schwannomas, clival chordomas and spinal intramedullary tumors. For his outstanding contributions to neurosurgical training and education, he was awarded Prof RM Varma distinguished neurosurgery teacher award by Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology